The loneliness of losing a baby

Miscarriage Memoirs

By Lucy Taylor
February 1, 2010
From The Daily Mail

When I discovered I was pregnant in October, I felt so many different emotions it’s difficult to know where to start.

I was shocked because of my age – 38 – and the fact my partner and I had been trying for only a couple of months. As women are bombarded with the message that our chances of conceiving naturally after the age of 35 are virtually zero, I had assumed we’d almost certainly need some form of medical intervention, and even then I knew there were no guarantees.

When the shock dissipated, I felt excitement verging on elation. Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve wanted to be a mother.

But over the years, as relationships failed to work out, I focused on my career as a journalist, instead. I enjoyed the single life. I travelled widely. It took…

View original post 1,916 more words

Leave a Reply

