Struggling already…

Struggling already…

Not with the IVF although i did give myself a bruise whilst injecting.

No, what im struggling with is giving stuff up. Caffeine and alcohol being the main ones and i have no idea why.

I usually find it so easy to give it up as i barely drink and im used to decaf but today it all seems a little unfair. Ok. Very unfair

Im comparing myself to fertile ladies, who don’t have to give up anything to get pregnant.

Its worth pointing out i have no problem giving stuff up once those embies are back where they belong, at that point im pregnant and it is so so easy to stop. I feel special when im PUPO (pregnant until proven otherwise) but this pre-pregnancy giving up is TOUGH.

I was hoping when it started yesterday it was just a one day thing but I’ve woken up feeling the same.

It probably sounds so selfish of me. I mean whats an extra month on top of 9 months. But today im struggling with how many hoops us IVFers have to jump through, the guilt we feel for doing what any other woman would do.

Rant over.

Little Miss PMA xxx

14 thoughts on “Struggling already…

  1. Oh my gosh I so relate. This is the hardest part for me. I feel like I am already suffering so much that damn it why can’t I have a little pick me up in a cup of coffee or a little buzz with some wine. This last time I had hot chocolate ( a tad of caffeine in it) and would pour a small glass and have two sips. For some reason that made me feel better. Anyway– thinking and hoping and wishing for you. Hope the stim days fly by.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh I so relate. This is the hardest part for me. I feel like I am already suffering so much that damn it why can’t I have a little pick me up in a cup of coffee or a little buzz with some wine. This last time I had hot chocolate ( a tad of caffeine in it) and would pour a small glass and have two sips. For some reason that made me feel better. Anyway– thinking and hoping and wishing for you. Hope the stim days fly by.

    Like

  3. I am not really a coffee drinker, but I do drink a lot of tea. I cannot begin to tell you how much I miss tea. Herbal tea is alright (rooibos is nice – give it a try as it’s naturally caffeine free) but it’s just not the same. And don’t even start me on wine. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ive found pg tipps decaf is a good tea substitute. And ive tried a few herbal teas too
      Its not the actual not drinking its the fact its expected of us IVFers but not of those ttc traditionally!

      Like

      1. That’s good but don’t get too excited about decaf tea as it depends what process they use to remove the caffeine (same for coffee). Many processes use chemicals to remove the caffeine so I am not even drinking decaf tea unless it’s naturally decaf. For decaf coffee you want to check that they use the Swiss Water process for removing the caffeine. I won’t drink it unless they use that process, but maybe I’m a bit too intense about this stuff. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have to say im getting more and more relaxed about these things but i think its coz im so long in the tooth when it comes to IVF. Although i do know that there is some caffeine in decaf tea and coffee and chocolate i dont overly worry as you can have a little even when pregnant.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel the same. This cycle I began the whole giving up stuff a full 6 weeks before transfer so I could “ease into it.” Instead, though, it was doubly hard since I had so much time to justify just one more. Meantime I have drinking, smoking, coffee guzzling friends who just keep on accidently getting pregnant. Grrrr. It’s a tough road, but worth it. And like you, once I’m PUPO, as I am now, giving up anything becomes siper duper easy. *shrug* Anyway, at least I’m in good company πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can so relate, I’ve been trying to give up coffee for months. Every day I’d wake up and say ‘today will be my last coffee’, then I’d feel guilty, then cross. Why shouldn’t I be able to have a coffee to treat myself. So now I enjoy my favourite brand of caramelatte over the weekend. No guilt involved. This weekend being a 3 day weekend I’m excited to be getting an extra treat. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah I also feel like I’ve given up alcohol for so long without anything to show for it, i.e, a baby! It will be worth it in the end of course, but yeah it’s hard sometimes. I especially miss drinking wine after a hard week in work!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I totally get it and if it helps, I totally suck at giving stuff up AND I totally suck at taking all the supplements/vitamins I should to up my egg quality and be healthier. You’re right, it’s unfair that there’s so much added stuff to do or not do just to try and get a shot at having a baby.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

