Final Cycle – Day 13

Final Cycle – Day 13

Egg collection!!! 

I overslept, woke up at 8.05am and had to be out the door at 8.15am so threw my clothes on, shoved on some sun glasses and off we went.

When i arrived we sat in the waiting room and then my lovely nurse showed me to my room. There i signed consent for the sedation and had my cannula fitted.

Then i changed into my lovely gown n slippers, had a wee and was wheeled to theatre. Hair net on and onto the bed. Im so short they basically strap my thighs to the stirrups not my legs! 

I was given an anti sickness med whilst the team prepped for the procedure. At one point i saw a metal contraption being fitted to the internal scanner probe. My eyes widened and the embryologist laughed, i realised it was the speculum to open my cervix! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ 

Next thing i know, sedation is pushed through and im out.

I came round to find out id been talking nonsense and when asked to transfer from the trolley to my bed, i flopped my head over and that was it. Apparantly it took 2 nurses to move me whilst i gabbled away in some unknown language to an unknown person!!! 😢😢

When i came round i was told we had 15 eggs, 13 mature and that Mr Me’s sample, although not as good as last time, had given them about 3million to choose from! Woop! 

ICSI was performed whilst i was there. Thats when the sperm is injected into the egg to hopefully fertilise it. Ill get those numbers tomorrow.

2 drips later and a handful of post collection meds later i was good to go home! 

I was a little crampy and im spotting a bit but my uterus has been stabbed several times so who can blame it!! 

Im now on steroids, antibiotics, progesterone and estrogen. The antibiotics until embryo transfer on friday, steroids for 17 days and the rest until 12 weeks gestation if im lucky.

Next 5 days are all about relaxing although ill get daily updates via embryoscope and on wednesday the biopsy will take place for PGD – pre genetic diagnosis to rule out the most common chromosomal abnormalities.

This evening im going to my fave coffee shop to meet my fellow patients and get a hit of much missed caffieine! 

Im a happy girl despite missing Mr Me terribly.

Love, Little Miss PMA xxx

6 thoughts on “Final Cycle – Day 13

  1. Oh hon, well done for today. Reading this really takes me back to my egg collections. It’s such a horrible process. Great outcome though – everything well and truly crossed for the updates over the coming days xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

