Final Cycle – Day 18

Final Cycle – Day 18

Embryo Transfer!!! 

Id been asked to come to clinic for 10.30am so we were up early and started the water-thon to fill my bladder. We arrived a little early so i could keep drinking, Mum doesnt drive so the half an hour journey was liquidless and i wanted to be sure i had a full bladder as in a previous transfer it wasnt full enough.

I needn’t have worried, in the end i went a bit mad and totally overfilled my bladder. 2.5ltrs is FAR too much and VERY uncomfortable.

Anyway, upon arrival i was shown to my room (i was still drinking at this point) and Umit explained that we had 6 not 7 healthy embies (just whatsapped me the wrong number is all) but as im not after 6 babies, its allllll good.

The scientist in me wanted to know which embies were unhealthy and what they had.

Number 4 in the embryoscope had trisomys 13 & 18 (Patau & Edwards Syndromes)

Number 7 in embryoscope had Turners Syndrome. 

Im really very pleased we had PGD as without it, those 2 embies could well have been transferred.

Umit also told me that number 1 (originally in table top incubator and now known as ‘table top’) was beginning to hatch!!!! We have never ever had a hatching blastocyst before. It made me begin to believe this could work.

Dr F had a couple of collections to do and a scan appointment so i was left to my own devices for a bit. At this point i knew i had drank far too much! 

I did one ‘little wee’ to help with the pressure, but by the time i was collected for ET (embryo transfer) i’d had to do another. Its very hard not to fully pee when you are THAT full let me tell you! 

So im wheeled to theatre, given my hair net and get myself on the table. The nurse does an ultrasound and after a few minutes declares im too full and need to wee a bit more. Cue me waddaling around in an open backed theatre gown, hilarious.

Anyway, after my 3rd ‘mini wee’ im back on the table and the image is clear.

Lovely Dr F comes in and starts to prep me and tells me ‘i want you pregnant this time Toni’. You and me both lovely! 

The image was so good that i saw the cathether enter my uterus and i kept my eye on it. After the lights are dimmed, Mr Embryologist brings in my 4 (2 hatching, 2 blastocysts) babies and Dr F pushes them through. And there on the screen, a white flash as they entered my uterus!!! Eeeep!!! 

Once again Dr F tried to give me a catheter to relieve my VERY full bladder but alas it was too big, again. Instead she gave me a lovely pep talk about my chances, i thought i might pee on her! 

So ET was at 12.20pm, wheeled back to my room and told i had to wait 30 mins before i could have a bed pan. Longest. 30. Minutes. Of. My. Life!!!! 

I lasted 25…..ohhhhh the relief. No embarrassment this time re the bedpan, just pure joy!!! 

After my lengthy pee, the nurse did my clexane and proluton depot and i was left to my 2hr lie down and a meal.

Halfway through my meal i had to pee again. Cue poor Mum getting the bed pan out for me again!!!! 

I felt some light cramping whilst lying down….possibly because, number 12 was also hatching by the time it went back.

These are the final embryoscope images…

The colour coding shows what was good for transfer and what needed disregarding. Embryoscope is the bomb.

Close ups of the transferred blastocysts below

‘Table Top’ almost fully hatched blasto
Number 6 -Blastocyst
Number 11 – Blastocyst
Number 12 – partially hatched Blastocyst

Ive spent hours looking at these pictures. Ive never had 1, let alone 2, hatching blasts its just incredible.

After clinic, we had cake, Umit put it into our heads. We got home about 4, put a wash on and promptly fell asleep! 

Its been an emosh day! I couldnt be happier. If this doesnt work, it never will.

Let the 2 week wait begin. Crumbs.

Love, Little Miss PMA xxx

13 thoughts on “Final Cycle – Day 18

  1. Just the best news!! Two hatching!! Holy moly!!! Cas was a hatching… Of course!!
    I know you’ll be close to madness this next two weeks so I’ll do all I can to distract you and help the time pass quickly. Perhaps daily lyrics, pics, pep talks, honest banter… All I can I promise but you know already, You Got This!!! Massive hugs from the 4 of us lovely xxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh do serenade me daily, id like that!!! Arent they beautiful at hatching, i cant stop looking. Gunna try maintain the one day at a time approach
      Remind me of that when i freak next week πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Hugs from the 5 of us!! Xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that’s incredible Toni! Truly incredible:) so you had 2 hatching blasts transferred? Were they able to freeze any others? (I’m thinking for the option of siblings later on, of course). As you say, you’ve given this last go 110% percent and the odds really couldn’t be any better. I’m so glad you had pgd because that will allay a lot of fears re: your 12 and 20 week scans . Sending a sandstorm of baby dust your way, not that you’ll need it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 2 hatching and 2 blasts, 4 total. The other 2 were frozen but im not sure what ill do if its a BFN tbh. But….cross that bridge when/if i need to. Best ever chance in 5yrs of IVF so lets see if i win. Thank you so much for the babydust. Cmon my embies!!!

      Like

  3. Well, the 2 hatching blasts will now be hatched and actively looking for a womb to burrow into – handy for them that there’s one right next to them, eh? And the others could well be hatching too. I’m predicting a whopping bfp on this one xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

